ANTONOV BIPLANES

The normal sounds of summer here in Bulgaria have been joined by the deep, gurgling rumble of  Radial engines overhead, if it was possible to mate a Harley Davidson with a Supermarine Spitfire, its illegitimate off-spring would sound like an Antonov.

I’ve seen them parked in a nearby field on a few occasions lately, on the day I didn’t have my camera with me there was 5 Antonov biplanes and one enormous old Soviet built helicopter from the Cold War period, when things were built big and scary, just because that’s how we all did things back then!!

The place was a hive of activity, some pesticides were being pumped onboard one plane ready for crop spraying, the pilot was sat in the cockpit pressing buttons and things whilst  a mechanic atop a ladder looked puzzled by the engines  silence.

I asked Victor my neighbour if he knew what the planes were, he thought them to be old Russian Antonov’s, so a few minutes on Google and the planes are Antonov AN-2, designed in 1946 back in the USSR and entered production in 1947.

The Antonov AN-2 is the Worlds largest single engined Biplane, and amazingly production of these planes only ceased in 2001, they can take-off in as little as 50 meters. (150 feet)

They were all very friendly and were happy for me to take photos, I think that if they weren’t busy having mechanical problems at that time, a little cheek on my part may have got me a look inside!!

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on June 4, 2011.

8 Responses to “ANTONOV BIPLANES”

  1. Theres just something surreal about those old planes still having a working life.

    • Hi Graham,

      Yep great arnt they, I could have made the photos black and white to really take us back in time..

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  2. Would have been really cool if you could have had a go 🙂

    • Hi Owen,

      I’m sure they will be back again for more crop spraying, might ask then 🙂

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  3. Nice to stumble upon a couple of old planes, how come your pics are a bit grainy?

    • Hi Gary,

      My camera was having one of its moody’s, I think all cameras are female at heart lol…

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  4. Would be good if you could go up in one and take a few aerial shots.

Leave a Reply

 
