WHEN YOU’VE GOT A PROBLEM….WHO YA GONNA CALL….

NO!….Not Ghostbusters……Damiano from BULGARIADIRECT , let me explain, foreigners need to open a company to buy property and a car (Meer formality) in Bulgaria at the moment, normally this takes about a week to complete but due to things being very busy this year there is now a delay of  two to three weeks. I put my car on trade plates (Friendly car dealer) so I could drive it around Bulgaria, and Bulgaria only!!

Now here’s the problem, My friend Mick, living in Turkey still, bought my furniture from my flat in Turkey, we only expected to be in Bulgaria two weeks top and then drive back to Turkey, collect our things in the car, give Mick the furniture and drive back to Bulgaria, Mick was not moving until (So we thought) the end of September….So plenty of time we thought until we got a text message from him!!

His buyers had moved up the schedule, Mick now had to be out of his house sooner, needed the furniture locked up in my flat and I can’t drive my car over the border because my company paperwork had not come yet…..RING, RING, RING…..”Hello Damiano, got a problem mate.”

”No problem, I can get your car over the border, just let me make a few calls to set things up and I’ll call you back” was the reply!!

”Come to VT (Veliko Turnovo) tomorrow morning, we’ll put your car in Martins name, re-register the car (New number plate, new MOT) then go to a lawyers, get a Power of Attorney for you to drive the car anywhere in the World, then find a translator to write the whole thing in Turkish, English and Bulgarian then get you a green card for Turkey, it’ll take about 4 or 5 hours” he said confidently!!

Brilliant, all problems solved by a simple phone call to the right person, most company’s would wash their hands of you after you paid for your house but not this company, their after sales service and care is unrivalled in my experience!!

Martin on the left from BULGARIADIRECT and Nice man (Sorry forgot your name) from EUROCAR.

We dashed around from office to office getting the paperwork sorted on a very hot day, also because I had a very long drive ahead of me (1300km) should we get the engine serviced for my very old car while we were in VT or just fix the air conditioning. In the true spirit of ”Ignorance is bliss” and ”Trust to luck” we decided to just fix the air conditioning in the car before setting off for Turkey.

After 3 attempts (We always get lost) to find the right road we eventually left VT at 5pm for a 24 hour driving Marathon to our flat in Turkey.

I DONT KNOW IF MARTIN, DAMIANO OR NICE MAN FROM EUROCAR WILL EVER READ THIS, BUT YOU ARE ALL ABSOLUTE STARS FOR WHAT YOU DID FOR US THAT DAY….THANKYOU!!

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on September 9, 2010.

6 Responses to “WHEN YOU’VE GOT A PROBLEM….WHO YA GONNA CALL….”

  1. very impressive, if bulgariadirect arnt paying you to write this about them, they should do, so does the car stay in your friends name now??

    • Hi Stan,

      No one pays me to write anything (Unfortunately lol) still driving around in a 50 year old car and living in a building site lol

      the car goes back in to my name next week, my company papers came about 2 weeks ago, we just havnt got around to doing the paperwork yet..

      cheers,

      Dave….

      PS…I tell a lie, Honda did give me a small tool set,and a free service once….but I never let it change my life lol…

  2. Very interesting to know Dave, as you say most companies would no longer pick up the phone after you’ve paid, like the Ghostbusters angle lol

    • Hi James,

      I saw Damiano today when I was in VT doing my car paperwork…..Damn, forgot to tease him about Ghostbusters….Next time lol

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  3. I’ve been looking on their website again at houses even the wife has started to show interest now, were both sick of the rat race here. Is it really all good out there, something bad must have happend by now??

    • Well actually yes something bad has happened……the car radio packed up last week then Ian (Ian and Bev) fixed it, but today it bloody packed up again, no matter how hard we hit it!!….Also I cant find my mouse mat, and I Know I packed it…….see, I have problems too.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

Leave a Reply

 
