IT’S A JUNGLE OUT THERE

Where do you begin, well first off the house has been empty for 4 years and as soon as the electric and water were turned on yesterday afternoon it became evident we had a burst water pipe under the concrete floor. Fortunately Anna from BULGARIADIRECT was with us yesterday and made arrangements for a plumber to come today.

While I waited for the plumber to arrive we started on the garden, some trees were too close to the house and roof so had to come down. Neither of us has ever chopped down a tree before, looks easy doesn’t it!!….You see people on TV in Canada do it all the time.

Even with Monty Pythons ”I’m a Lumberjack” song playing in my head we didn’t get far chopping it down, I don’t think the tree was even slightly worried, after 30 or so minutes of swearing and chopping our next door neighbour Damian came round, chain saw in hand.

Hmm…Must get me one of those!!……The plumber came, Fidel Castro was his name (Really) I went off with him in his car to explore local hardware stores for various plumbing bits and pieces. While I had him I decided to install hot water and an inside toilet…..most houses in Bulgaria still have outside toilets!!

I bought a 50 litre electric water heater with variable temperature controls for 210 lev (85 GBP) there were cheaper ones but I went for middle of the range quality. I left Fidel to install the new boiler and run pipes to what will become a bathroom and explored around outside and find where we can run sewerage pipes for a toilet.

Linda meanwhile began attacking the garden and carved away through to the barn.

She found potatoes and pumpkins in the garden amongst all the grape vines.

Luckily whilst exploring I found the property had 3 septic tanks I could use to run sewerage pipes too, I arranged for extra workers to come tomorrow to dig the trench needed for the large sewerage pipes.

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on August 24, 2010.

9 Responses to “IT’S A JUNGLE OUT THERE”

  1. Uncle Davie and Auntie Linda:

    Your blog was hibernating, and now you post every hour. I love your new adventure. Glad your old friend came back to life too

    bob
    Wet Coast Scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      We decided to have a day off from house bashing today and just relax with our beloved internet….only another 200 photos to post on here now…nearly caught up lol..

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  2. Hey Bob, my poor hands are very sore, work work and more work, still having fun its a great adventure and a huge challenge 😀 Hope your well we have missed you x

  3. Would there be a business opportunity to import pink Crocs(tm) into Bulgaria?

  4. Dave:

    Don’t tell me what ? Did you know that Nikos has a pair of Orangy Crocs ?

    bob
    Wet Coast Scootin

  5. I do believe my daughter has some too!!

Leave a Reply

 
