MOTORCYCLE VIDEO DIARIES

I’m going to start VLOGGING, which is video blogging, still going to write blogs as well though. This is the first vlog I’ve done, and it’s definitely a learning experience, there is just something about the human brain that makes it misfire,  or go completely blank when a video camera is pointed at you.

Anyway, undeterred by a form of Tourette’s that makes one ramble nonsense  in to a camera….Here is my first offering.

Make sure you press the 480p button.

For those living in Turkey click the link to watch on Vimeo http://vimeo.com/9480981

.

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on February 16, 2010.

117 Responses to “MOTORCYCLE VIDEO DIARIES”

  1. Well done…this is your best one to date,like your style lol

    J

  2. Just brill – I thought I was watching a wildlife documentary on the BBC lol

    • Hi Rob,

      I never knew how little I knew about plant and animals till now lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  3. Bravo Dave

    We want to see Linda in part 2 telling us how all the caterpillars turn into silk?

    N

    • Cheers Nikos…….funny you should mention that, she wants to be in the next talking video, Montie’s OK on dirt roads but he definitely does not like water though!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave (The naturalist)……

  4. haha Nikos, we have fantastic insects here in Turkey…I shall talk for hours on the next vid on your chosen subject of caterpillars turning into silk lol

  5. I was going to say Dave that you seem to have taken the advanced off road filming specialty course!

    And Linda, I can hardly contain my excitement!

    xsN

  6. Caterpillars are the larval form of a member of the order Lepidoptera (the insect order comprising butterflies and moths). They are mostly phytophagous in food habit, with some species being entomophagous. Caterpillars are voracious feeders and many of them are considered pests in agriculture. Many moth species are better known in their caterpillar stages because of the damage they cause to fruits and other agricultural produce.(little taster for you there Nikos) now your excited eh!!!!!

  7. Linda:

    you are using such large words. My dictionary doesn’t go that high. Can’t wait for you to speak on video two. Lucky there is a 10 min time limit on YouTube or else we would be in dire trouble.

    tell Dave to be careful with his one-handed riding. It appeared he nearly lost it . . .

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  8. I have told him many times Bob that I thought it was dangerous riding one handed, but he told me to stop being a girl 😦

  9. Some see danger and foolishness, some see an experienced rider making entertaining videos- well done!!

  10. ….and just whats wrong with being a girl 😦 !!!!!

    Good vid…so when are you off Tiger hunting next lol..

  11. Look out Attenborough………there’s a new David about !!
    What’s next…..maybe cooking Turkish kebabs in the mountains like them Fat Hairy Bikers.
    Just been watching it on youtube at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHvrkqMei4c

    Get one ready for when I come over

    Cheers

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      Just watched the Hairy Bikers video…Had no idea about the sheep tail fat, not sure if I like kebabs anymore lol…….

      Look out Attenborough indeed !!!…..I think its quite safe to add plants and animals along with football, music and sports to the list of things I know nothing about lol…did you watch the video on economics I sent to Nikos, a couple of comments up….I’m so looking forward to our conversations on macro theory when you get here !!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  12. Dave & Donna:

    Linda & Bob, sort of has a nice ring to it, don’t you think ?
    Birds of a feather and all that

    Dave, we worry about you. I think you almost “Lost it” , my heart skipped a beat or two when I was looking at your video.

    get a better fixed mount. You can always edit later.

    Don’t get too political, we know nothing of Greek politics over here.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • BOB…Stop worrying, I started my bike riding life on Enduro’s back in 79…falling off, off-road is part of the fun as is getting wet or stuck in mud or sand etc. I’ve fallen off-road hundreds of times in my life, its not the same as on-road spills…the speed is mostly walking pace and it does not hurt taking a tumble at 10kph on soft or loose ground, unlike 100kph on a hard road.

      Get that belly pan made for your Strom and give it a go…It’s great fun,really!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  13. Just watched that video…..never could get my head around that macroeconomics !!……….It’s always been microelectronics and semiconductors for me…LOL.
    I somehow don’t think a chat about transistor-transistor logic would be that interesting.
    Anyway I can’t stop wondering how they extract that much fat from little fluffy sheeps tails !! perhaps you could ask one of your Turkish pals.

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      LOL…Touche lol……I’ve never given any thought before to kebabs, ignorance is always bliss..never new I was eating a cute fluffy sheep!!

      Your up late, have you finished work now ready for the drive here…Linda told me you’ve bought an old VW van for the trip here??

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  14. Ian:

    did I hear VW van. I used to have a Westfalia and just loved it. I wouldn’t mind having another one. Is it cheaper to bring a bike over from the UK, rather than buying one in Turkey? was just wondering

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • ..Import restrictions, tax and never ending paper work for the odd loon that tries…it’ll cost you double the vehicle value, so pretty much everyone just brings in what car/bike they want for 6 months then it has to go out for 6 months. There is talk of allowing us foreign residents (Cos We’re special) one tax free imported car/bike…but nothing has happened yet.

      Cheer

      Dave…

  15. Now hey Dave and Bob, what’s all this VW VAN talk, I’ll have you know they are called VW Buses amongst us AIRCOOLED Men !!
    Yep the idea was to buy a one that needed a bit of work doing to it, use it for a while and then sell it for small proffit.
    It’s turned out it needs alot more work, so that’s where all my free time is being spent at the moment……working on the BUS !!
    Dave I don’t finish work until beginning of April, so it’s busy busy trying to fit everything else in around Bobby as Bev has named him.

    Off to work now and you watch you don’t get burnt in that February sun, while I scrape the ice off my car befor I set off !!

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      I stumbled across those VW’s when I was looking at vans last month…its so cold here in winter we feel we could do with a van for travelling in those 2 months when its cold, and for the 2 months when its too damn hot.

      Saw a lovely green and white one fully restored as new, plus the chap made a matching trailer from half a VW bug, it looked the dogs bollocks mate!!!…..the chap was asking 20,000 Lira (8 Grand) …I was tempted until I saw the price, 8K for a 1970’s motor, it did look cool though!1

      So finish work April, on the Road for May….Bev might have finished your last trip report by then 🙂 Have you started a VW blog???

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  16. Hi Dave,
    We dont know each other, but was just enjoying your web site and videos being another Transalp man and noticed you checking out the caterpiller nests….. just to put you and others reading this in the picture, I’m almost certain that they are Pine Processionary Caterpillars that we get here in the Pyrenees, see: http://www.practicalspain.com/spanish-arthropods.htm

    My wife had a nasty experience with them one time; she was brushing them up so the dog didn’t get at them and they caused extreme irritation to the skin on her face and hands. They are bad news so watch out for them.

    Anyway, ride safe and keep the blogs and vlogs coming 🙂
    Cheers
    Potski
    PS I have a few of my Transalp photos here in the Pyrenees on http://www.flickr.com/photos/potski-photos/

    • Hi Potski,

      Welcome aboard……thanks for the info on the nasty caterpillars, I hate all bugs and never touch anything, but my Mrs. is the opposite and is always playing with creatures – Thanks for the heads up, ı will tell the Mrs.

      Pyrenees, I think I may have ridden the bike there last year if its those mountains in Spain, Sierra Navada, if not then I dont know what I’m talking about lol….

      Cheers,

      Dave….

    • Hi again Potski…….Just looked at your photos, very collectable those early silver Alps, I have thoughts of trading mine in for an early model sometimes, the classic Alps just have something about them!!

      That toolbox bolted on the front of the belly pan is a good idea to keep all that tool weight forward, how is it attached, just bolted through???

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

      • Hi again Dave,

        Yes, the early Alps are nice; I think the PD 10 double disc bikes are arguably the best of the bunch… said the Transalp anorak, but as you know they are all good.

        The toolbox is just an old ex-army telescope box, fixed by two bolts through the back with big washers behind them to spread the load and drilled throught the original plastic bash plate. As you said it keeps the weight low and forward and works pretty well.

        The Pyrenees separate France and Spain we’re about an 90 minutes from Andorra. Ex-pats like yourselves. If you are ever over our way come and say hi.

        Cheers

        • Hi Potski,

          Small World, when I rode the old girl around Europe last year we took the E80 out of France and then E15 down to Gib, passed right by you according to Google maps.

          Like your metal toolbox idea, wish I’d thought of it last year, I dont really like the look of the plastic tubes, anyway dont be a stranger feel free to comment anytime.

          Cheers,

          Dave….

  17. 8 grand!!!! You should have snapped his hand off!! Those 70’s ones can go for anything up to 15k here. Ian was thinking of setting up a little export business!!

    Bev is far too busy making curtains and such for blogging……….gulp……..;)

    • Hi Aunty Bev,

      15k indeed…if only that bloody steering wheel was the same side it would be a nice little business!!!

      Got any photos of you making curtains or video of the sewing machine, you and the curtain being sewn lol

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  18. Dave:

    for 8 grand here you get JUNK. Most are in the $15 grand range or more. the 70’s buses are in big demand in California probably over $20 grand.

    and what do you mean by COLD. Wanna trade places, we would love to have your 20c .

    Dave, I was just thinking that now you don’t have to buy a VW Bus. There will be one available for your use in May, with new curtains too.

    Ian: poor you having to work a couple of more months. but then you two will be basking in the HOT Turkish sun

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      What side is the steering wheel on in America, here and Europe its on the left as you sit in the car, UK its on the right…I know a chap who exports old American muscle cars to the States 1950’s and 60’s stuff from what I’ve seen.

      Ian is such a generous person he would probably fill the tank before I borowed it, there are some really nice off-road stretches in Turkey.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

      • Dave:

        The steering wheel in North American is on the LEFT. Everyone else drives on the wrong side of the road. Can’t wait for Ian to get his VW VAN to Turkey. Then we will have something to drive around when we visit

        bob
        bobskoot: wet coast scootin

        • Hi Bob,

          The steering wheel is on the left here also and all Europe, except the UK.

          Bob, Ian is the epitome of Northern hospitality, he would probably volunteer to chauffeur you around, pay for the petrol, cook the meals and provide a massage before bedtime!!

          Another warmish day to day, I did intend going to the hills to make another video but got talking to Theo in his office for 3 hours instead lol.

          Cheers,

          Dave….

          • Dave:

            What do you need driving lights for ? You aren’t riding anyway. Ever since you got back on the wagon you have been sulking in the corner. Do you have crash bars, or highway pegs to mount them on, or perhaps install a bar somewhere low down. Are these the new HID type lights ? You’ll have to send airfare then I can come over and hold the screwdrivers

            bob
            bobskoot: wet coast scootin

            • Hi Bob,

              …You’ve been on this photo blog for 18 months, and you ask if I have crash bars fitted…..Do you wear a patch over just one eye or both lol!!!

              yes, I have crash bars fitted, somehow I have to make something to fix them on to it, thats not a problem…what I need to know is where/how do the wires go. Everyone in our riding group has bought these lights (They were cheap) and so far they have been wired direct from the battery with an ordinary switch fitted to the bikes instrument panel.

              I am thinking I want a water proof switch and not an ordinary switch, also I want them to work if I press the FLASH button for the head light….I dont actually know if that is possible since I have no electrical knowledge.

              I dont know what kind of lights they are, other than big, black an suck 55wat each!!!

              Its been too cold to go out Bob, its even rained some days, there was also a day last month when it was windy!!

              Cheers,

              Dave….

              • Dave:

                don’t know what happened, but my post got buried farther UP, instead of being LAST

                luv,
                bob
                bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                • Dave:

                  here it is again . . .

                  Funny you should ask but I only wear both patches when riding. You could probably purchase switches made for marine use, they should be salt-water proof. If you want to connect to your factory “flasher” switch on your handlebars you should put in a relay first to take the Amperage so as not to burn it out. Or the simple way would be wire it up the same as everyone else directly to the battery, but with a momentary switch in parallel to the ON switch, with a handlebar mount, not as clean looking but it will match the other bikes in Turkey

                  Have you looked at my latest PICTURE IN PICTURE video ? It’s only SD taken last year whilst riding my Suzuki SV650 to Kelowna, BC which is just over 400 kms East of Vancouver

                  bob
                  bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                  • Hi Bob,

                    Thanks for that…..It’s much more difficult than I thought, I have no idea about relays and such….guess I’ll just have to settle for NO FLASH.

                    My oil and air filter are due soon, perhaps if I took the bike to the Honda main dealer in Fethiye (Big town) they might know something about electrics, it certainly sounds beyond our local hammer mechanics where I live. Although it only rains 4 months a year here, I will be taking the bike to Europe again, which means rain, lots of rain….think I’ve just talked myself in to going to the main dealer lol.

                    Just off to look at your video now!!!

                    Cheers,

                    Dave…..

                    • Dave:

                      read and good luck . . .

                      http://www.therangerstation.com/tech_library/relays.html

                      luv
                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Hi Bob,

                      ….Might have to read through it a couple of times lol….so a relay is a magnet operating a switch (Got it), so there might be a relay on the bike already someplace, perhaps theres already one for the FLASH switch!!!!

                      Next sunny day I shall follow all the wires from the flash switch and see where they go….If I’m really lucky I will find a little ”Thing” with FLASH RELAY written on it lol….

                      Cheers,

                      Dave…..

                    • Vlogger Dave:

                      Is your camera broken ? or are your batteries dead ?

                      luv
                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Hi Bob,

                      NO, I’m waiting for my lights to arrive, it will be my next project…….so far 24hr post has taken 7 days, good old Turkey lol.

                      Cheers,

                      Dave the Vlogger…

                    • Vlogger Dave:

                      Something for you to read, whilst you are doing nothing . . .

                      http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/faq-emporium/117895-faq-relays-how-they-work-how-wire-up.html

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Hi Bob,

                      Thanks for the info….I’ve decided electrics are beyond me, and cant find a relay localy, its going to be a trip to the main dealer in a big town, I’ll just say to them ”Make it work” also if they damage anything in my electrics they have to put right…İts a comfort lol

                      The lights are here now, but it was too cold to go out today…Got to think how/where to mount them now…They are really big and ugly lol

                      Cheers,

                      Dave…..

                    • Dave:

                      check your spam filter again, thanks

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • dave:

                      I’m typing to myself. My post disappeared again

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Your posts are here Bob…its just too difficult to find them now amongst all the others…They should just appear at the bottom????

                    • …Yep they’re at the bottom…are you wearing your eye patches again lol

                    • Uncle Davie:

                      everytime I put a comment at the bottom, it ends up somewhere you can’t find it

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Oooh 99 comments with this one…Bob you must be 100, the honers all yours mate!!!

                      Yeah…Think my comment section is broke, not to worry, I shall write a new post any day now about my lights 🙂

                      Just been in my blog workings and enabled something called ”Comment Nesting” see if that helps??

                      Cheers,

                      Dave the Vlogger

                    • Dave:

                      I want to be comment 100. did I make it ?

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • YEAH!!!….100!!!!….you did it Bob 🙂

                    • Uncle Davie:

                      this is a real post. look what I found

                      here is a link:

                      http://www.autoswitch.com/2006/models/as5p/as5p_index.shtml

                      this is an autosensing pulse relay to trigger your driving lights. All you have to do is pulse TWICE within a few seconds and the relay will turn the lights on. You can connect it to your passing button like you wanted to do. Just flash your passing lights a couple of times to turn them ON.

                      luv, and hugs to Linda

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Hi Uncle Bob,

                      I’ve seen that on the roads in Europe last year when bikers commng the opposite way give the ”Hello” flash….It looks really cool the way their lights pulse and flash like police vehicles, I dont know if I could find that kind of technology here in Turkey, but I’ll ask when I go to the dealer.

                      Cheers,

                      Dave…..

                    • Uncle Davie:

                      WOW. 25c and 1:00 am. it sure is hot where you are.

                      we’ll be lucky to get that high in July or August

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Hi Uncle Bob,

                      Yes its very strange…we have snow on the mountains around us, then this hot, very dry wind came blowing in hard today from Syria or Iran direction, with the air temp this warm at night, if the suns out in the morning, should be a proper warm day again….might have to dig my Hawian shirts out early 🙂

                      Cheers,

                      Dave….

                    • Cousin Davie:

                      You didn’t have to rub it in and use that Hawai’ian word. Our vacation is but a memory now. Have to work on the Turkey tour soon before you move back to the UK. Have been dreaming of Ian’s cooking . . . and use of the VW bus to travel around

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Hi Uncle Bob,

                      Dug all the summer clothes out of the wardrobe today 🙂 ………Made another video today, I tried PIP for the first time today also…Video should be ready in a couple of hours, just uploading to YT now.

                      PIP is not as time consuming as I thought, I did 4 PIP’s and it took me about 30 to 40 minutes, still very crude but the next one should be better!!

                      Cheers,

                      Dave…..

                    • country bumpkin Davie:

                      My 2nd Vlog is up and running

                      I hope you were wearing your Hawai’ian wardrobe to really rub it in

                      bob
                      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

                    • Hey City Slicker,

                      Just finished my Vlog now, not warm enough for shorts yet though….see how we suffer here lol………On my way to your blog now!!

                      Cheers,

                      Dave…..

                • Hi Bob,

                  I think the comments get out of sync when you reply via e-mail instead of the comment box on the post, perhaps!!

                  Cheers,

                  Dave…..

  19. Hi Dave,
    The left hand drive ones are just as much in demand…….some people even prefer them in the UK for when they go touring abroad.
    I was looking for a lefty myself…..seen as 99 percent of our driving is going to be on foreign soil.
    Importing non EU vehicles into the UK carries a 10% duty charge on top of the 17.5% vat….bloody robbers !!
    Bev says she’s still in the tacking up stage and she has the prick marks in her fingers…..I didn’t think sowing was that hard !!
    I thought I had the hardest jobs to do…..obviously not…LOL.

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      The VAT and tax etc is that on a UK customs valuation or on paperwork here, if its on paperwork here I know how to have a more ”acceptable” value declared. Mick and I keep thinking about the classic bikes here that have been siezed by the authorities and driving them to UK in a van, but as yet the ”special facilitating” fees are too high.

      A video of taking up then…shall I look on Youtube in about an hour lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  20. Hi Dave,

    From what I’ve read online so far it seems to be added on to the amount you’ve paid for the vehicle (i.e the bill of sale in Turkey).
    On the plus side if the vehicle is a classic or over 10 years old your’e exempt from needing a SVA inspection and just a standard mot is required to apply for a V5 registration.
    There are other ways I’ve been told…….loop holes, which require a bit more work !!
    What’s the law over there on export side of things ?
    I was told by a Turk over here…..’not a problem easy’

    Catch you later, some of us have work !!

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      Looks as though we have found a little something to do when you get here lol

      Cheers,

  21. Dave:

    Yesterday I purchased a Hero GoPro HD 1080 cam. Just have to find a place to safely mount it without riding with one hand, as per Linda’s request

    Can we substitute Bev for the massage instead of Ian ?

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      Look on youtube at peoples results, just tap in Hero GoPro 1080, that should give you some mounting ideas without it getting ”Fish eye.”

      Well if Ians doing all the driving and cooking Bob, its only fair Bev should help out!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  22. (..It was Bob and Linda…..They’re both trouble makers) just to let you all know he will suffer for that comment :)….(evil laugh)

  23. …I miss typed my comment beloved (Bloody keyboard) I meant to write, Bob’s the trouble maker 🙂
    I think poor Bob was just being a caring friend looking after you :p you will be on pompom duty for a week now!!!!!

  24. I see all of you are planning on keeping me busy when I get to Turkey !!

    Dave I’ve stuck the only photos I’ve got of the old girl on picasa for you to have a look at.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/mr.iancrawford

    Bev tells me you and Linda are also starting to get the VW Bus bug…….I think it’s an age thing, I’ve fancied one for ages, but then I’ve always been into the old Rock music/Hippy scene.

    And that you’ve started back on the fags…..you naughty boy !!

    With all this driving getting planned you’ve got me researching LPG conversions….LOL

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      It looks in good nick for 30 years old…its not the same shape as the VW van I thought you had….Yeah I’ve been looking for a while for whats next, the arthritis in my throttle hand and fingers is playing up more and more, still want to travel though, the logical next step would be a van of some kind that you could sleep in, Hyundai H100 camper version fitted the bill for a while but at 25mpg and the petrol price being 3.7 per litre, NO WAY. Same with the Ford Transit, too thirsty!!

      The other van is Hyundai Starex VIP, the sumptuous back seat pulls forward into a double bed, plus theres a table and 2 captain chairs in the back, the auto box does about 35mpg and the manual can tickle 40mpg, what do the VW’S do to the gallon??

      Back on the fags after 6 weeks, the final straw was the video I just made….There were some shots of me walking about (Edited out) thats when I noticed how fat I have got in the 6 weeks of constant eating LOL.

      LPG conversion might be cheaper done here where its common place, Mick just priced up LPG for his 700 year old Land Rover, 4 to 500 Lira (170 to 210 Quid) he said…I can ask him again next time I see him, if your interested??

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  25. ”Dave I’ve stuck the only photos I’ve got of the (old girl) on picasa for you to have a look at.”

    Ian you wait till ı tell Bev what you called her lol

  26. How much was petrol there??

    • Hi James,

      Are you sat down!!….Turkey has the Worlds most expensive petrol..3.7 lira litre = 1.60 Pounds (2.5 US Dollars) so a gallon here is 7 Pounds 20 (11.50 US Dollars a gallon)

      In the governments budget here last month everything went up by 10 to 50% food, power,fags,booze,petrol….The only good part of the budget was the transfer of ownership fee for cars/bikes has gone down from 400 lira (170 Pounds – 270 Dollars) to 40 lira (17 Pounds)

      The majority of people here are poor, so life for them just got harder!!! Economists speculate the government are trying to inflate their way out of huge deficits, but if they dont allow the exchange rate for the Lira to move accordingly then they could damage their only industry, cheap tourism, which employs millions, interesting times!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  27. Hi Dave,
    It does 28 to 30 steady away…GULP !! But on the plus side NO HOTEL bills and if you rough-camp no campsite fees either.
    There’s only a handful of places in the UK that specialise in converting the aircooled boxer engine to LPG….apparently the setting up is quite complex with it having twin carbs.
    This company is highly recomended in the VW world http://gasure.co.uk/sales.htm but at £975 + VAT !! Thats alot of petrol money and I would not see any savings until I’d covered at least 6000 miles.
    Turkey option sounds cheap / good. The only problems there for me would be the certification for the next MOT in UK and why can’t people simlyfy things around europe, just discovered you’ve got to carry 2 to 3 different filling adapters (at 12 quid a piece) not including possibly another one for Turkey.
    I think I’d be looking at a Diesel converted one for Turkey mate.
    I’ve read people convert the VW’s to diesel (engines from old Golfs and Polos go in with a mod kit on the gearbox) and they are returning 40+ mpg.

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      Wow, 1100 Quid to convert to gas…sooo much cheaper here, there is LPG certification here now, they brought in the European standards MOT here last year, it might be worth you investigating that.

      The twin carb thing, pretty much every car here over 1500cc has LPG conversion, except Mick’s Landrover, thats Mercs, Jags, BMS, Range Rovers, American beasts etc. a lot of them must be twin carbs, I would be surprised if its difficult to do here, because millions of cars have it done here, and every town has an LPG man.

      Been thinking the same here when van time comes for me, rough camping is what I intend to do. When we toured on the bike we were mostly motorways in between our places of interest, whereas you were too tight to pay the 2 Euro toll fee, and took the minor roads. The continental service stations on the motorways were huge in France and Spain etc and biggish in Italy, we rough camped in a few petrol stations as you know, I noticed that some mobile homes and vans were in the truckers park/sleep area at night also, these service stations also had nice toilets and hot showers, food was quite reasonable (For Europe) priced also, Police also patrol the service stations at night quite regularly from what I saw…Its all so different from the small, gray,grimy, vandal infested places we know in the UK!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  28. Well done Dave! I really enjoyed your tour – Turkey is a beautiful country – I am used to seeing the water and shore, and didn’t realize the mountains were so beautiful there as well.

    • Hi Lance,

      Thanks for that…..Yes the mountains here are truly beautiful, not really yet, but in a few weeks the clear blue skys will be back. With the addition of the Vstrom and the Pegaso, everyone in our riding group has now gone over to enduro (Dual sport) bikes, the roads here are just too awful for the poor suspension on road bikes. We should all be riding together in the hills soon, cant wait!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  29. Dave:

    Tisk, Tsk, only 6 weeks and you have given up ? Shame on you. I’m a little disappointed, esp that Linda said you were going to stay off them this time. I hope she didn’t have a moment of weakness too

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hello uncle Bob……Tis true, 6 weeks, which to be fair in ”ciggie withdrawl time” is actually 10 years…or thats what it felt like lol…..Linda, errr!!!

      I was doing well until I got fat, I’m vain Bob, I didn’t want to loose my rugged James Bond good looks!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  30. This is in turkey? very beautiful.. must be an awesome feeling riding in the mountains with your bike

  31. Dave:

    Funny you should ask but I only wear both patches when riding. You could probably purchase switches made for marine use, they should be salt-water proof. If you want to connect to your factory “flasher” switch on your handlebars you should put in a relay first to take the Amperage so as not to burn it out. Or the simple way would be wire it up the same as everyone else directly to the battery, but with a momentary switch in parallel to the ON switch, with a handlebar mount, not as clean looking but it will match the other bikes in Turkey

    Have you looked at my latest PICTURE IN PICTURE video ? It’s only SD taken last year whilst riding my Suzuki SV650 to Kelowna, BC which is just over 400 kms East of Vancouver

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  32. 69 comments!!!!!!!!!!!Lets get it to 100!!! 🙂

    • ……LOL..what shall we talk about, we’re on picture in picture (PIP) or wiring aux lamps at the moment….

  33. Dave:

    a relay is just an electro-magnet. As soon as it is energized, the contacts close the circuit which takes all the AMPS, so the switch doesn’t get the power surge.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • …Yep cheers Bob, I understood what a relay does and how it does it, I dont feel confident doing this myself….I will see if I can get Ians drawing translated in to Turkish and let the main dealer have a go at it.

      Its a little more complex than when I put a dynamo and two lights on my bicycle 40 years a go!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave……

  34. Hi Dave,

    Here’s another comment to help you on you’re way to the century !!
    I’ve done you a circuit for your driving lamps.
    As Bob has aready said, you need an automotive type relay ( min 15 Amp )
    an inline fuse and a switch. Also if you want your existing pass button to flash them you’ll also need a diode in the circuit.

    Diagrms at http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/mr.iancrawford/BikeWiringInfo#5442706995592354290

    Hope this helps

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      Thanks for doing that drawing, I will see if I can find someone with a working printer, ask Theo to translate it to Turkish as best as he can, then a trip to main dealer in Fethiye.

      I’m not sure if they have a proper electrician as its mostly scooters here, but your drawing translated should give them some idea where to start, I know the electric symbols are international, hopefully that includes Turkey!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

    • Hi Ian,

      Saw Mick today, he’s getting his Landrover converted to LPG in the next week or so…cost complete 450 Lira (195 Quid) its being done in Ortaca.

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  35. How much are your aux lights, ı was looking for my bike but they were quite expensive apart from those little halfords ones.

    • Hi Owen,

      These are quite large lights…about 1 3/4 inch dia. and about 5 inches long, they are bright in the day light too…….27 Quid the pair, they come with a metal bracket but no wire or switches.

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  36. IAN:

    Saw Mick today, he’s getting his Landrover converted to LPG in the next week or so…cost complete 450 Lira (195 Quid) its being done in Ortaca.

    Cheers,

    Dave…..

  37. Still only 82!!!! Come on everybody…………..LOL!!
    Anyway it’s about time you put a new one on – I hear the suns shining there so no excuse! Sod the foglights – it’s not foggy there anyway!!!

    🙂

    • Hi Bev,

      No its not foggy, but very potholey lol….They are for seeing potholes/animals/melted tar/unlight vehicles and stupid people in the road at night…Welcome to Turkey!!! 🙂

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  38. Dave:

    Is your chinese camera broken ?

    luv
    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  39. Vlogger Dave:

    you have to read this, while you are doing nothing:

    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/faq-emporium/117895-faq-relays-how-they-work-how-wire-up.html

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  40. Uncle Dave:

    I thought I was loosing it . . . I knew I posted a reply BUT it disappeared and I looked all over the place trying to find it. and NO it didn’t drop on the floor.

    I’ve got a couple of other ideas for more Vlogs, we’ll see. The problem is by the time I get home the sun is down. I have to wait for the weekend for more daylight. If I did them inside, I’d have to do a major cleanup to clear out all the junque in the house.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • …90 comments is just messing with the system, my little blog is in overload lol

      Dont call it ”Junk” Bob, refer to it as a ”House full of collectables” lol….Yep me too, I’ve got 2 vlogs in mind, one doing the lights and for the bike, for the second vlog I want to see if I can find that burial chamber with the body inside that Theo and I stumbled over a few months ago when we were lost in the mountains.

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  41. These comments make no sense at all now..mind you, they were written nearly all by men hahahahahaha

  42. Aaawww I wanted to be 100, I kept watching lol

  43. My comment has vanished some place in the pile….perhaps I was 100 after all!!!!

  44. http://www.endurocu.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=8137#113719

    Transalp trip to Syria and Jordan

    .

  45. This is supposed to be a blog not a chat room for budding old electrical engineers!

    • Hi Nıkos,

      You can join our chat room……..if you tell us what your wearing LOL

  46. uncle dave:

    you really know how to rub it in. Did you have to use that Hawai’ian word ? Our vacation is but a memory and we only have pictures and videos to remind us

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  47. country bumkin Davie:

    My 2nd Vlog is up and running

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

Leave a Reply

 
