HERE’S A STRANGE THING….

Iran has launched   English language TV channels, that’s right, Iran….Reagan’s ”Axis of Evil” and Bush’s ”Hotbed of Muslim extremism”  are broadcasting English/American TV shows.

After a storm nudged the satellite dish last week I was flicking through my 999 channels, (996 being either Arabic, Turkish, Farsi or Mongolian) looking for my three English channels, BBC World, Al Jazeera English and Bloomberg Europe.

We used to have four English channels before, but CNN got banned, anyway as I was flicking through the 999 channels an episode of LOST suddenly came on the TV, in English!!

Both Linda and I starred loose jawed at the TV, we watched a whole episode of LOST before speaking, could it be true….English programmes….YES, Iran has launched two English channels, one news and current affairs, the other films and TV shows etc.

I think the new Iranian English channels are a counter to the BBC launching  new Arabic and Farsi channels in this part of the World, so if it’s a battle to win hearts and minds, well the Iranians have won mine, if they keep showing me English TV programmes!!

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on January 30, 2010.

31 Responses to “HERE’S A STRANGE THING….”

  1. Dont know how you can live with no TV….it would drive me potty mate.

    • Hi Stan,

      When we first came to Turkey we had no electric or water or months, a year to get phone line and internet….5 years later we have electric and water (most of the time) AND….internet…PLUS 4 TV channels…….Luxury!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  2. Great!!! Can’t wait – 2 channels to watch – YIPPEEEEEE

    • LOL……4 channels (if there’s electric) actually PLUS…..the internet (if its not raining) what more could anybody want!!….I’m just starting to watch Celebrity Big Brother now on Youtube, I’m downloading them for Luceen and Mick also…they dont have internet or TV!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  3. you’ll be speaking ıranian next….lol

    • Hi stan,

      No fear of that….I make no effort at all to learn any other language, I’m a true Englishman lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  4. Dave:

    You’re too modest

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      Thanks…..I have by accident picked up some words, but really I make no effort.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  5. I dont bother to learn any foreign lingo either, Just point and shout louder….works for me lol

    J

    • Hi James,

      I made a point of learning bonjour and gratzi etc during my travelling years, but whenever I was confronted with a real live foreign person my mind would go blank half the time lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  6. I dont bother either…you can always find someone who can speak English in any corner of the World….in a bar normally lol

    • Hi Owen,

      Your right mate, the whole World speaks English (Our gift to the planet) so why spend the time for no purpose…..infact, English speakers who learn a foreign language must have a mental disorder, example:

      You are hungry, and there is one open tin of beans and one pile of ingredientrs to make beans in about 2 hours…the logical choice is the open tin of beans!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  7. people who speak English Dave and learn a foriegn language must be viewed with suspicion!!!!!!

    Owen….

  8. I can not fault your ”Beans” example Dave, ever fancied being Prime Minister, theres a vacancy coming up real soon lol.

    J

    • Hi James,

      A mind that only see logic is both a gift and a curse lol….

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  9. Dave:

    I am not sure I like beans, can you get a tin of soup instead ?
    or ingredients to make the soup in 3 hours

    thanks
    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  10. Psst…..The others just found out!!!!

  11. <em?psst, hey Dave:

    do I know Donna ?

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • ”<em?psst, hey Dave: do I know Donna ?''………..Memory loss at our age can be a terrible thing Bob lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  12. Donna kebab??

    • LOL…..You changed your avatar picture at long last Nikos….I will miss brains lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  13. Yes Dave

    The final straw came for that fecking puppet when it appeared on every post I made on any blog anywhere whether wordpress or not!

    Bob in tropical Vancouver would probably know the reason….

    N

    • Hi Nikos,

      All’s well that ends well…..you can relax now untill you change your mind and want a different avatar picture lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  14. P.S.

    Who is that silly git on the top screen standing behind the dafs on Ayatollah TV? Is it a long lost Dimbleby bother by any chance?

    • ….The chap in the photo is the Iranian puppet master, er sorry…president and his name is Armani Dinner Jacket, I think!!!

  15. Hi Dave,
    we haven’t met for a long time, I think because of the winter 🙂
    I want to buy headset for radio from where you buy, can you give me the web adress. Thanks..

    • Hi Bars,

      I have not been out for 5 weeks because I am still quiting smoking, I cant trust myself yet lol………

      The radio headsets, I think it was this company ( http://www.rocketradio.co.uk/ ) where I got the headsets from, I sent them e-mails first about the Cobra radios and also I telephoned them to speak about the Cobra jack and headsets etc. The Cobra jacks were a problem because Cobra do not use standard sizes they told me when I spoke with them.

      To phone the shop in England from Turkey you add 0044 and remove the first 0 from their phone number, hope all this helps.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  16. Thanks a lot Dave, You know our headsets problem, problem so I think we gonna buy new one…
    Best
    Baris

    • Hi Baris,

      I thought your headsets were OK now…..Theo said you just have to put an extra speaker in the helmet from a childs toy??

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

Leave a Reply

 
