POSTING VIDEO’S ON YOUTUBE – AARRRHH!!!

You say to yourself,

”I’ve made a nice little video here, I think I’ll put it on YouTube, so my friends can see.”

That one little sentence will be the beginning of  a  stressful and un-wakening nightmare, lasting weeks as you try to understand why your beautiful DVD quality, hand-made master piece, crafted with love and care looks so dreadful, once on YouTube.

You tell your friends, ”Honest, it plays like a DVD on my computer or the TV.” But nobody really believes you, the time now dawns where you tread the lonely path of the damned, in the hopeless search for FORMAT!!!

Like a junkie looking for a fix, you scour the web looking for FORMAT information, clues to solve the mystery……But, unfortunately FORMAT is not the whole picture (Pardon the pun!!) Bitrate,  (Mega Bytes per minute) is also a factor, the greater the Bitrate, the better the quality, but….the greater the file size, and not suitable for uploading to the internet, and I’ve not even mentioned resolution or aspect ratio  yet!!

The best compromise between file size and quality that I have found for YouTube is the MPEG2 format, after that the quality slides away and deteriorates like a newly elected politicians  promise. WMV and MPEG4 are not to bad, but all the other formats (About 30) look just dire once mashed up by YouTube.

Anyway, on a more successful note, I acquired some fancy editing software and re-made the Santa Ride video from last week. My new software has IMAGE STABILISATION, so now  vibration and bumps are  no longer of any concern as the software can transform any kidney bouncing motorbike ride, into a silky smooth glide.

Remember to press the HQ button.

Readers in Turkey go to:  PAGES-MY VIDEOS-click on VIMEO.

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on December 18, 2009.

35 Responses to “POSTING VIDEO’S ON YOUTUBE – AARRRHH!!!”

  1. Dave:

    There is but only ONE solution to your dilema. I am very interested in how it plays on your PC. Send Air tickets so I can view it on your monitor with my OWN eyes. It will also solve your upload problems

    luv
    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • ..LOL…Honest, it plays like a DVD on my computer!!!…How many times have I said that in the past couple of weeks lol…Tickets sent by carrier pidgeon!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

    • ..Wow Bob…the Ralph and Wendy show!!!…How did you get such clarity, its clearer than TV or DVD….DO TELL!!!!!!!

      I had to give you 5 stars Mate.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  2. Dave:

    I’ll bet you open all your Christmas Presents before Midnight too. It’s part of my Xmas post coming up. I looked at my subscribers and there you were xxVienna, so there’s no fooling you. The other video which you missed is Rawcorn “I want to hold your hand”, check that one out too.

    also I really like the female violinist in Sounds of Pike Place. Go check them out, but this one is std def. the other two above, are Hi-Def 720p30 mode. It took me a day or so to figure out how to edit AVCHD, now I’m all set

    luv
    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      AVCHID and HD 720p….I’m sure my super Chinese camera must have these settings somewhere, I will have a look!!!……Yep, looked at the HD Video you mentioned, crystal clear again Bob, but 250mb for 1.5 minutes is very large, it would take me days to upload 1G file to YT with our slow internet here lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  3. well your video looks OK to me, I like your opening title, very funny LOL

    J

    • Hi James,

      Your very kind sir…..still think I can get the quality better though!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  4. You and Bob will kill yourselves looking for perfection, the vids great and way better than the average you tube offering..be content lol

    Like the Paramount logo re-design lol

    Pete

    • Hi Peter,

      The Paramount one was quite easy to do, but we are still working on the MGM one, need to find some fancy writing software lol…I think my vids are as good as they are going to get now, I can fight YT, but not sloooow internet lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  5. Dave:

    I made that last video for you, and inserted a “Picture in Picture” box, plus I can put Labels anywhere on the screen.

    You could say that we are perfectionists. Once I figure out how to use all the options then I will be happy. I’m nearly there, just trying to figure out how much less bit rate you can lower to without losing much resolution

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      PIP remains my final frontier, going try it the next time I make a video, probably a tongue in cheek off-road vid. I have spent my evening trawling YT for PD 8 tutorials and general ‘How to Videos’ ….YT is actually quite an educational resource…thats a sentence I never thought I would ever write lol.

      After PIP, I then want to learn a little animation so I can play with my opening titles a little…..Going to have to waive the white flag and negotiate a cease fire with YT on clarity, the enemies mysterious powers and dark agents far out number me….But its as clear as a DVD on my PC, Honest!!!…lol

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  6. Hi Dave,
    After reading all these comments from yourself and Bob I thought I’d better have a go at some of this movie making malarkey !!
    First I found a few video clips that Bev had recorded on her camera from the tour and stuck them on windows movie maker……several hours later I managed to create this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RbHihBf4zM
    Let me know what you think of my first attempt.

    Cheers

    Ian.

    • Hello Stranger,

      Very good, and with built-in Bev image stabilization, you cant go wrong…..looked like Croatia!!

      WMM being very easy to use, and produces a much better than average job on YT, it takes a lot to beat WMM….I’ve had to obtain all these fancy programmes because I need image stabilization, not having the luxury of the Bev Mount, stay with WMM Ian, DON’T follow Bob and I down our tortured path lol.

      Much better than my first attempt!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  7. Ian:

    I really like your camera mount. Very steady and able to swing around to capture panoramas of the scene. Very little vibrations, you must have your mount securely fastened to the rear, somehow.

    I find that sounds and movement enhance the riding experience and makes you feel that you are there. Nice to hear from you once in a while instead of “what’s her name” once in a while.

    I love the video and I recognize some of the Turkish coastline from Dave’s Chinese Videocam, with the Canon Label (lol)

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      I’M just guessing here, but I suspect I’ans camera was just a little more expensive than my Chinese Canon F1000 lol. WMM is hard to beat Bob for YT lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  8. Spot on Ian loved the music, great vid mate loved it 🙂

  9. Ian:

    I really liked your video, just had a chance to view it all.
    Amazing at how your first video runs rings around Dave’s

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  10. BOB:

    I’ve made a Title that lights up this afternoon, only 3 hours work for 6 seconds of video lol http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z56OkChrYrU ıts still a work in progress, but you get the idea.

    Cheers,

    Dave….

  11. Dave:

    WOW, that is gooooooooddd. You need to wear a more skimpy dress to keep our attention & also don’t forget the high heels

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  12. …cheers, still looking for a smoke generator for the ciggie…perhaps you should make a Title Bob, you would look nice in those pink Crocks of yours lol!!

    Cheers,

    Dave…

  13. Dave:

    I have actually made a title in the Wet Coast Tradition, but I’m coming up with more ideas. I wanted one with movement and some sound.

    PREL has an option to delete the background if it is one solid colour. Then you could “film” the smoke and have it coming out of the mouth of the Statue.

    • Hi Bob,

      I actually stumbled across some free smoke on the internet a few days ago, but couldn’t think at the time what I would use it for…now days later I have a use for the smoke but now can’t remember what website had it lol…Theres always something!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  14. Dave:

    FREE internet smoke is better than the real thing, and better for your health too

    My last posted video plays smooth on my computer, but after it was uploaded, it now stutters a little

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      I found free smoke etc but could not make it work, think I may have a plug-in missing…Yep have the same stuttering problem also on on YT, only one solution, construct video with stabilisation in another programme, save as WMV, copy into WMM and then up to YT…WMM makes the best job…its still the Daddy!!!

      Bob…I think we are both trying too hard, striving for perfection just creates new problems and soooo much wasted time, I must upload and delete 2 or three videos per day from YT.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  15. Dave:

    I think YT drops some frames so makes it look jerky. My first HD video was over 13 Mbps and it was smooth . I reduced this one to 6 Mbps to save on upload file size and it was jerky. My next one will be changed to 7 Mbps. I’m trying to find the sweet spot of lower file vs smooth playback

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • LOL…I’ve been making vids all day again looking for the elusive sweet spot….had enough now, going to watch The Dirty Dozen on Stagevu, you cant beat an old war film to de-stress, plus there’s lots of left overs in the kitchen tonight, so might cook myself a ”Dippie goo”

      when I put the Mbps up over 4, YT gave me problems also…AaarrrhhH!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

    • BOB:

      That FFD codec thing has been giving me problems, its behaving like malware, taken over all my editing programmes and stuffed them up, its hard to delete it, hides in little places, but I’ve got rid of FFD now…Got Corel running again, but PD8 is still dead in the water…..theres always something!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  16. Dave:

    sorry to hear about your new old computer dying. You must have fed it too many videos

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • …No worries, it’l be right tomorrow, wipe it all off and re-load xp again…I’m going to get in really early about 09.30 so it should be all running again by early afternoon. got to go vegie shopping with the Mrs. tomorrow, she is cooking Christmas dinner for Mick, it’s our turn to host this year….Be watchful on that FFd programme mate!!!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  17. I have the same experience trying to post videos on youtube and facebook, I was forever telling friends that my videos played brilliantly on my TV and the problem was youtube and not me!!! LOL…Your story reminded me of those times, nice blog bye the way!!

    Moh

    • Hi Moh,

      LOL..As all elderly people have their ”War story” we all have our ”Youtube story”

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  18. Just wanted to say hello and nice blog. This is my first post.

  19. My manager recommended this website lol

  20. Hello all! I like this forum, i organize multifarious interesting people on this forum.!!!

    Great Community, consideration all!

Leave a Reply

 
