IT WORKS !!

Make sure you press the HQ button.

With grateful thanks to Bob for his advice and tips, I finally made my super battery to keep the camera running on my bike, my super battery will power the video camera for 2 hours, or a small town for 3 days!! Bob steered me in the right direction, it’s all about Milli Amps (MA) and bake bean tins when it comes to batteries.

The battery holder for the bike is made from two cigarette packets, rubber bands, sticky tape, sponge, and bean tin lids cut up to make all the contacts. I managed to find some good rechargeable batteries in town, 2 x 2100MA and 4 x 2500MA.

Last night whilst making the battery holder, I left the camera running to see how long it now records video for. Previously it recorded for just 4 minutes before to two batteries inside the camera were completely drained, last night it recorded with 6 external batteries for over an hour before the 1 GB SD card was full…..Sucsess!!

Today I went for a run over our local accident black spot twisties to Gocek,  just to see if everything worked on the road, it did, so this means more video’s in the future, but they will not be so ”roady” as this one…..This video was just for demonstration.

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on November 25, 2009.

29 Responses to “IT WORKS !!”

  1. Yes Thankyou very much Bob!! My house has looked like a kids nursery school, what with empty toilet roll tubes and sticky tape everywhere you look, I have been half expecting dave to ask for an empty washing up liquid bottle to make himself a space rocket 🙂

  2. Linda:

    I think you were just tired of seeing Dave eat all those corn flakes and chocolate pudding so I managed to get him to eat some beans instead. I’m glad it all worked out in the end. Tin cans are the best for making battery contacts. I;ve bee using the lids for years, just be careful not to cut yourself on the edges.
    Actually I have to make a battery holder for charging my new camcorder battery.
    Have I moved up to the Linda HUG category, touching the Transalp is too cold this time of year

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  3. Bob…. can you please tell Dave that he needs steak wrappers to make his battery holder 🙂 then yes you will qualify for a Linda hug 🙂

  4. You could make a very effective rocket out of a tin can, sodium chlorate (weed killer) and sugar. No batteries, sticky tape or copydex required (just a box of matches to get it going).

    Yours ever, Bbbbbbrrains (inventor of Thunderbirds 1 to 5 and the mole amnd countless pointless gadgets)

    • Hi Nikos,

      Half empty hairspray and car paint tins are the best rockets by far…how do I know??…..the late entertainment at drunken BBQ parties during a miss spent youth, just place the tins upright in the BBQ embers and stand well back, well, well back, oh happy days lol..

      I also made a working cannon at work once, but thats another story!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  5. Dave:

    You’ve got to take Linda out for a steak dinner. She is tired of eating Hot Dogs, sandwiches and now canned beans. I presume you bought a case for your battery holder manufacturing business

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      ”Hot dogs”…luxury!!!….. Bread and gruel here mate, and that’s only if I can get the bread lol ….Being a tight arse, I bought just one can of beans lol…

      I need just 2 paper clips and a larger SD card now to finish this bike mounted videoing project….Then go out on some rides!!

      Cheers

      Dave….

  6. Dave, it does work, and it is excellent! Nice job, and some nice curves on that road!

    • Hi Lance,

      Thanks, got there in the end, I think your the only person who’s watched though lol….

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  7. Believe me when he says he only bought one can of beans!!! Dave take me out for a steak dinner!!! hahahahahahahahahahahaha..poor me 😦

    • Linda:

      OKay, now I’m getting it. I thought that Dave would buy a tin of steak. It took a while to understand that he scanned the shelves for the cheapest can of whatever and it happened to be beans. Did he throw the beans away ? or did he pour them on top of the Gruel ?

      luv & kisses (someday)

      bob
      bobskoot: wet coast scootin

      • ….You got it buddy, I scanned the shelves for the cheapest anything in a tin….”Throw them away”…No, I had them cold from the tin, it’s all in the cause of science!

        Cheers,

        Dave…..

  8. …”Bread and Gruel”…..luxury!!!…….When I was a kid we were so poor we could only dream about Bread and gruel!!

    Nice song on the video, who is it by???

    Stan

    • Hi Stan,

      Dreams, you had dreams!!!……Luxury!!…..when I was a kid we were so poor we couldn’t afford dreams, in fact we were so poor the word ”poverty” is actually my surname!!

      Not sure who sung it, but I think the title of the song is ”If you don’t ride, you don’t know”

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  9. Dave take Linda for ANY dinner let alone steak……..hahahahahahahahha!!

    • Hi Bev,

      I’ll have you know, I treated Linda and Mick to a kebab only the other day!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  10. ….you had a surname!!… luxury!!….we were so poor our dad couldn’t afford names for us when we were born!! lol

    • …You were born….Luxury!!….our dad had to make us from bits of cardboard and sticky tape that he found on the local rubbish dump where we lived in an old bee-Hive!!

  11. STAN

    Just found the song title, its called OPEN ROAD.

    Cheers,

    Dave….

  12. Linda:

    From my perspective I think you have 2 viable options:

    1) go and purchase a tin of beans open it and throw the lids away. (This will drive Dave crazy as he needs them for his battery holder business). Then proceed to eat all the beans in front of him, without offering him any.

    2) Purchase the best steak money can buy. When dinner comes around you have the steak, cooked to perfection. and give Dave a tin of beans, unopened, along with a can opener

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  13. Hats off to you Dave, with prodding from Bob you managed to solve both the camera mounting and battery problem…and all for next to no cost!!

    keep an ear open for the phone, NASA must surly ring after reading your blog lol.

    J

    • Hi James,

      Yes, got there in the end lol….just waiting for some bike trips to come up now!1

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  14. Its been a week now since your friends accident, I was just wondering how’s he doing??

    Stan

    • Hi Stan,

      Thanks for asking……..Physically he’s healing up very well, and fast, the advantage of being younger lol…….But mentally he’s gripped with fear now. His bike is repaired now, so he went for a ride to the place of his accident, but he said it was: ”Terrible and full of fear, every corner I thought I would fall off, I couldn’t do it.”

      Those of us hear who have taken a tumble or two in the past know this ”Fear” is normal, and will pass….But I think a little fear is a good thing to retain on motorbikes, it helps us to keep the speed down, which is only a good thing!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  15. Dave:

    waiting patiently for “Gocek Ride 4” . Get your batteries charged up and your elastic band mounts ready

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      Yep, working on it, but it actually rained here today and yesterday, we are not used to it raining and can’t cope lol

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  16. Yeah, come on, more videos…..A month back in England will soon get you used to the rain again lol.

    Stan

Leave a Reply

 
