VIDEO ATTEMPT 2 – MAKING PROGRESS

New thinking last night… about 03.10 AM it was… has led me to scrap the first handlebar camera mount (too much vibration) and make another mount by using a miniature tripod.

This new one is so good, it’s the final camera mount, it is simply a miniature tripod costing 4 Pounds (6 USD) some hose pipe, double-sided sticky rubber, black electrical tape,  and cable ties.

The ”Dave Mount,” as I shall call it, I will patent the name incase RAM MOUNTS  try to copy my design lol…..My mount fits nice and securely on the brake fluid reservoir via good old cable ties.

I rode along this bumpy, pot hole strewn road at a little over a hundred, and the ”Dave Mount” never budged an inch. All that remains now is to figure a way to connect the camera to the bikes electrics.

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on November 19, 2009.

18 Responses to “VIDEO ATTEMPT 2 – MAKING PROGRESS”

  1. Dave:

    It’s looking very good. I noticed on that first street you were the only one going the wrong way. All the cars on both sides were facing backwards.
    Also that girl on the bicycle must have knew her skin was showing

    I don’t think you can get much better than that, with your rough roads you are always going to get road vibration.

    are you not using rechargeable batteries in your camera ? you should have enough power for about an hour of recording

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      An hour!!!!!…..3 minutes with re-chargeables and 4 minutes with Duracel, hence the need to connect it to the bikes electric.

      The road is two way, but today was market day and it gets a little congested down there, everyone enters the market from the same road. Now the ”Dave Mount” is a success, Tomorrow I shall go around all the mobile phone shops to see if there is any chance of a plug to fit my camera, and the even more remote chance that someone will have a 12v to 3v transformer lol

      Yes the women on the bike must have suspected something, when I get more proficient with the camera I will be able to operate the zoom whilst in motion lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  2. I SERIOUSLY hope no animals were hurt during this recording!! (i.e – little puppies running out in the road!!)

    • Hi Bev,

      ….Never heard a yelp…..he did get a bit close though, don’t know how I missed him really!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  3. “Never heard a yelp”!!! Well he sure did yelp!Poor little thing will be having nightmares about Transalps running into him!!

    • Hi Bev,

      Watched it again with the volume up, no yelp, no thud, no squelch…he was just excited to see a Transalp lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  4. Hi Dave,

    It’s good to have you back….and now we get to watch videos as well, is there no end to your talents.I hope you get your battery problem sorted out, then we can really ride with you!!

    James

    • ….no beginning to my talents, more like!!……..the battery problem persists, today I went to every single electrical, electronic, car, computer, and mobile phone shop today, no joy on finding any of the bits needed to run the camera off the bike. So, tomorrows project will be to make something!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  5. Very atmospheric Turkish street scenes – the only thing missing are the wonderful smells!

    Have you thought about attaching the camera to your helmet? We then can see whether you are doing your mirror checks and lifesavers properly hahaha….

    Best wishes to you both, BBBBBrains

    • Hi Nikos,

      Yep, thought about a helmet cam, I have been checking out various helmet cam footage on You Tube, but all the cheaper camera’s produce very poor quality results. The cheapest good footage helmet camera starts at over 300 Pounds, perhaps next year they will become cheaper lol

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  6. Dave:

    I don’t like helmet cams. I have one with an Archos 40gig HD recording unit. It records to Mpeg4 480p but you are constantly turning your head to look out for traffic which makes you do a lot of editing to get all those bits “out” of your video.

    I am thinking of getting a ultraHD Flip and make a spring loaded clamp onto the windscreen, with a tether around the screen for security. The Sony one has a 270 degree revolving lens and there is a small screen on the back, unlike the GoPro Hero unit. You could revolve the lens out of the wind when not in use.

    to bad you couldn’t get a unit that recorded in a constant loop, say perhaps of always having 5 minutes of video as a “black” box sort of thing.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      I have looked at all the ones you have listed and am no nearer a decision on a future camcorder than I am on a GPS, but the camera I am leaning towards (At the moment, Friday 20-11-09) is the CONTOUR HD, the 720p is the cheapest at 250 Pounds and the 1080p version is another 100 Quid more.

      The kind of things that TV companies use starts at 400 Pounds and skyrockets upwards lol…ın an ideal World, a video camera with a mic socket, so the mic could be on a cable some place out of the wind, just how TV companies do it !!

      Perhaps its better to wait another year or so for the prices to come down, its never easy, is it lol….

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  7. Dave:

    the video looks good, but I am not a fan of any camcorder that you cannot view on a screen. the VholdR contourhd is only US279. on eBAY, so it is around 200 lbs, not 250. that website also shows the GoPro for us$199., which is only around 150 lbs.
    On my bike I use a Panasonic SDR-SW20 which is waterproof and shockproof, and I have a screen which I can monitor all the time. Video is just OKAY, but I am reducing it for Youtube anyway so I don’t need HD and 480p is DVD quality

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  8. This is defo a better video,make some more please…..

    Stan

    • Hi Stan,

      I’m working on it, just have to extend battery life beyond 3 minutes…

      Cheers,

      Dave…..

  9. What a good idea that cheap camera mount is…well done, think I’ll pinch your idea for my bike next riding season.

    • Hi Owen,

      Yes, I’m a natural born tight arse, why pay 40 pounds for a camera mount when you can make one for 3 quid lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

Leave a Reply

 
