BACK FROM UK….WITH BIKE TREASURE

Landed yesterday evening after yet another bloody awful ”cattle class” flight from UK to Turkey. I never want to fly ever again, the seats are designed to accomodate 3 foot tall pygmies only, those of us 6 foot and over need a liberal dose of axel grease smeared on our knees and asses before we can be wedged in our seats!!

I digress, although the trip to England was for a sad reason, after the funeral I spent my remaining days there catching up with old friends, and shopping. I bought the two way radios and headsets that I mentioned in a previous post, plus handlebar risers of 25mm and a handlebar brace, new tank pad, cable ties, and a mounting mechanism for either mp3 player or the two way radios.

PIC_0065

The keen observers amongst you (Ian) will have spotted the tins of shoe polish in the photo above, according to much internet research, black shoe polish will bring faded black plastic back to life, have not tried it yet!!

The brace and risers were fitted today, the brace has removed almost all traces of vibration from the handlebars, the risers mean I can keep my back straight now, much more comfortable for long trips.

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on November 10, 2009.

18 Responses to “BACK FROM UK….WITH BIKE TREASURE”

  1. Hi Dave,
    If the boot polish doesn’t work on the plastics next years Pradas are going to have to be black so it doesn’t go to waste !!

    • Hi Ian,

      Sad to say the Prada’s are being replaced (Not too soon) with safety foot ware for the bike, bought myself a nice pair of Hush Puppies with some ankle protection whilst in England. One of the tins of polish is tan coloured, my cunning plan there, is to make the Prada’s and Hush Puppies kinda waterproof, I’ve used shoe polish on sued shoes before and it does kinda work!!

      We shall know tomorrow weather black shoe polish works on faded black plastic, or not lol……if not, then I will have to buy the proper stuff at ten times the price lol….

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  2. Sympathies on your loss Dave….

    Are the walkie talkies for you and Linda? Could come in handy, for pom poms etc…………. 😉

    • Hi Bev,

      Thanks for that, it was a torrid time as I dare say Linda has told you…

      Two of the radios are for Theo and Boris, the other two are for Linda and I… Not just for pom poms, they could be handy to remind her about dinner times too lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  3. Dave:

    Welcome back. Sympathies to you and Linda too.

    I was also thinking of getting a handlebar brace. I have some parts for my bike not yet installed. A throttle lock and a 12 V LED voltmeter to monitor my battery draw. perhaps one day when it isn’t so cold I will get my tools out

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      Do ıt !!…the brace has cut down the end of bar vibration to almost zero, the 25mm risers make a noticeable difference also, my back and arms are that bit more comfortable now, you just need a sturdy rubber band as a cruse control, worked great for me on the 6 week trip.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  4. Dave:

    I can’t use the rubber band method as I have OEM hand guards and they attach between the bar end and throttle tube. I was also going to get frame sliders so I have someplace to rest my legs once in a while.
    It is getting cold here. Tonight it is forecast to go down to Zero. 0c = 32f

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      yes, know what you mean about resting your legs once in a while…I’ve been on the lookout for some foot pegs that I can just bolt on to my crash bars for long trips, kinda like highway pegs that you often find on cruisers, I could then move my feet around once in a while to take the pressure off my knackered left knee.

      There is a group ride in the planning stage for this Sunday, we are all as excited as school children to test out the two way radios whilst riding along lol, technology comes to Turkey!!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  5. You could bolt your GPS to the brace, as the Bishop said the actress??

    N

    • Hi Nikos,

      The brace would make an excellent GPS bolt on place……..just need to persuade myself that 500 Quid for a Zumo is sensible lol, every time I check out GPS units I can never bring myself to part with the cash, people don’t call me a tight arse for nothing lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  6. I notice that fecking puppet’s head is still coming up!!

  7. Hey Dave,
    As you know I also couldn’t bring myself to spending £500 on a Zumo, but I tell you what, that Garmin Nuvi 255 car version has never faulted once on the bike and it has the same European mapping as the Zumo and at a quarter of the price…… so you could even buy Linda one aswell !!
    And that 3 quid usb bike charger off Ebay is still working great after 10,000 miles !! The only downfall is you have to take it off the mount and stick it in you’re pocket when it rains heavy or there is a switch on it to disable the touch screen so you can put it inside the map pocket of you’re tank bag so you can still see it mate.
    Just had a look on the Halfords website for you and they’ve got the 255 European wide screen version (ideal for us short sighted people !!) for a bargain price of £119 instead of £156.

    Ian.

    • Hi Ian,

      You might have just talked me into it, I have heard of the Nuvi range, but did not know if it has a socket for earphones….My eyes are just terrible, I would definitely have to hear the voice commands in my helmet. I will buy a Full Europe 42 GPS, but which one, there are just so many….lane assist looks good, think I want that also.

      I dıd ıntend going to Hull to have a look at the ones in Halfords there, and of course ask the assistant how it works lol, but there was simply too much to do after mum died. The lady taxi driver who took us to Manchester airport had a GPS unit in the car…It was wrong by about 3 minutes all the way through the 90 minute journey, which then put me off getting a GPS, but it is impossible to navigate France or Italy without one!!

      Has the Nuvi 255 got an earphone socket and lane assist?? 120 Quid is much better than 500!!

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  8. Sorry no lane assist (is that for motorways ?)
    I don’t think any of the car garmins have earphone sockets fited because I can remember looking for that myself.
    But the more expensive ones have bluetooth, so you may be able to hook them up to a wireless bluetooth earpiece, but don’t quote me on that because it maybe just for mobile phone connection.
    I must admit the on screen directions are very good and accurate to 1 yard, as long as you can see them !!
    Would an eye test and a new pair of specs work out any cheaper !!
    I know what you’re thinking…….cheeky Geordie git springs to mind.

    Ian.

    • …You could be right on the eye test lol…..why cant things be simple in GPS land, if they all had a socket life would be so much more simple, I think the cheapest bike friendly GPS I came across when I was researching was the Becker Crocodile at about 175 Quid.

      The Crocodile kinda fits the bill in most respects, but they made the unit so damn ugly, I would have to see the unit in the flesh to know if I could live with that degree of uglyness lol. Perhaps my taxi driver had a faulty unit then, the lane assist is for motorways to move you into the correct lane ahead of time, very useful on Italian motorways where the exits are on both the left and right, bum clenching madness to cross over two fast moving lanes with little notice lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  9. Dave::

    that’s what I use, a Garmin 250 series with dedicated crade made for the bike using RAM mounts. (check out GPScity.ca to see what they look like) When it rains just use an inverted ZIP loc bag with an elastic band to hold in place. I have used in heavy rain all the way down to Oregon with no problems.
    I believe the bluetooth models interface with your cell phone, try to see if a bluetooth earpiece will work without a phone. They are very small and will fit under your helmet. They are cheap over here, as low as CDN$30.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      Thanks for the tip, I shall have a look at GPS city’s website…….5 of us our out for a long ride tomorrow to test out those radios and headsets that I picked up whilst in england…Hope it all works lol.

      cheers,

      Dave..

Leave a Reply

 
