A DUNGEON TO CALL MY OWN

I’ve been very busy since we came back from our big trip, and have not gotten around to getting the bike back up to A1 standard so far. I made a start today, the bike  picked up a few stone chips, plus the pannier mounting rack was heavily scratched from the metal hooks on the bungee cords, the pannier rack is not really visible once the panniers are on, but I know the scratches are there !!

The tent rack on top of the top box was also heavily scratched from the  same steel bungee hooks and looked very unsightly. The stone chips on the fairing  and front mud guard I will have re-sprayed professionally, but the racks I am happy to attack with a spray can myself.

IMAG0100

A light even spray every 20-30 minutes to build up the layers gradually, and then left over night to harden.

IMAG0102

It took me about an hour or so to put the rear end back together on my own, it’s quite fidley to get all the bolt holes to line up and hold  all the parts up at the same time lol.

IMAG0101

In the next few months its going to start to rain here in Turkey, but the rain we get here is orange and coats everything in an orange layer of muck. I want the bike under cover during rainy season, so went exploring options.

IMAG0104

Under our apartment block is a maze of corridors and dungeons, with power sockets and lights, however, a Transalp is almost 1 meter wide at the handlebars and simply will not fit past some of the concrete pillars and in to a dungeon.

IMAG0103

She will spend rainy season in one of the corridors under a sheet un-oranged, please excuse the crappy photos, the camera was having one of its off days!

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on October 3, 2009.

23 Responses to “A DUNGEON TO CALL MY OWN”

  1. Nice job on the racks; it’s good to have a space like that for your “paint booth.”

    • Hi Lance,

      What a good idea, I can make as much mess as ı please down there, no need to line everywhere with newspaper to catch the over spray.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  2. Your back…its been quiet without you, perhaps Dave you could hide away in your dungeon so that Linda does not make you quit the fags again lol…

    James

    • Hi James,

      In the absence of the traditional garden shed, a dungeon will do just fine as a retreat lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  3. Dave:

    when I hear the word “dungeon” my ears perk up, my eyes glow and I snap to attention. Thoughts of Linda in a sensual skimpy leather outfit holding a whip. With you in a room filled with handcuffs, chains, bondage equipment and I think how lucky you must be

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      Handcuffs, chains, bondage???………I think you are confusing me with certain politicians lol….A retreat to be at one, with ones machine, what more could any man ask for !!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  4. Dave:

    I was thinking of a very low cost accommodation option for my Turkey visit. Do you think I could set up camp there without anyone noticing, perhaps behind your bikes ?

    Have you thought about a rolling platform on wheels to more your bike around in there ? you know, ride your bike on, raise it on its centre stand, then move the platform around to a vacant corner somewhere.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      My dungeon door is always open for you, there are even some kittens around for company lol. Rolling platforms or even a centre stand are luxuries here in Turkey mate, its mostly make do and mend around these here parts.

      I am starting to think about a bike trip to Greece, Delphi plus some other ancient place I’ve forgotten the name of (Nikos help) just for a few days or a week at most. They have all the modern things in Greece, and wonderful looking motorbike shops that sell lots of bike goodies that I cant buy here.

      Cheers,

      Dave..

  5. Bob….when I was last in Turkey, some years back now, things were very rudimentary to say the least, a rolling platform would be something Dave could only dream off…in his dungeon lol.

    J.

  6. Dave:

    How’s the refresh going ? are you finished yet ? waiting patiently for the photos, or are you snowed in ?

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      No, not done anything here for a while, family problems, got a phone call that my mother is suddenly dying of cancer, she was fine when I saw her 3 months ago, so we are off to UK in a few days, got the plane tickets today at long last. Doc reckons 4 to 12 weeks left, so I am going now for a few weeks while she knows who I am and before the coma stage, and then back again at the end.

      Its not a pleasant thing to talk about, but its a fact of life unfortunately, to keep my mind occupied I’ve been visiting biking friends daily, just talking endlessly about up coming bike trips over winter and taking shopping orders for when I’m in UK. We are going to join the modern era and have bike to bike comms, I shall be buying the radios and headsets etc etc whilst in England, perhaps a gps also but they are still very expensive for bikes. In moments of upset most people either fall to pieces or turn to drink, I much prefer to be occupied.

      I have been to see the painter a couple of times but he cant do the bike at the moment because there was the threat of rain in the air or its too windy, spraying of bikes/cars is done outside here, therefore very much weather dependent lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  7. Sorry to hear your news Dave…been through similar myself with my Dad a few years back.

    You where asking about ancient sites in Greece? Most of Greece is ancient except the modern ruins they have built! That includes my flat in Athens! I’m still planning for my bike tour of the Peloponnese (next year) but needs careful logistic planning with Mrs N who is living in Vienna at the moment – life ain’t simple.

    Take care, N

    • Hi Nikos,

      Thanks for the invitation to use your flat in Athens on our next trip to Greece, but I feel it will be a while before we could get there lol.

      I have fallen deeply in love Nikos, her name is Honda Varadero 1000, I’ve been reading and researching everything to keep occupied, every one reckons is the Worlds most comfortable tourer…even more comfortable than a Goldwing, which is hard to believe but none the less it keeps coming up from blogs and motor journalists.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  8. Sorry about your mother Dave, with you all the best mate…My lunch time reads at work are just not the same without Transalp’s Adventures lol….chin up old chap!!

    James

    • Hi James,

      Cheers for that…..Its just a part of life that one has to accept and deal with…..”Onwards and upwards” as my father used to say, I do have some bike projects in hand now, I shall stick them on my blog, thanks for reminding me.

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  9. Dave:

    very sorry to hear about your mom. Do what needs to be done and we’ll still be here when you get back. ditto on missing you.

    I use a Garmin GPS for automobiles. they are cheap as compared to waterproofed bike dedicated ones. I use RAM mounts. For rain I just us an inverted ZIP lock baggie with elastic bands. No problem at all with the rain.

    when you figure out which is the best bike-bike comm systems let me know. I want to get one too. Over here “they” like the Scala Q2. They are very expensive here as compared to the USA

    take care
    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      Just bought the bike comms this very day via the internet, anything Bluetooth is too expensive for our blood also, but there is a cheap alternative…..two way radios, headsets with mic, push to talk handlebar button (PTT) bought 4 complete sets today for our little bike group here, that I will pick up in UK on Saturday. I should have blogged about it, its not too late, I’ll do it presently.

      GPS, as you say is just toooooo expensive for bikes, initial reaserch shows Garmin to be the best this side of the pond, which Garmin do you use, and does it have a jack socket so you can plug earphones in to hear the voice commands??

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  10. Dave

    You are into japanese love affairs…mine happens to be German with shaft drive (haha, Mrs N will never read this!).

    I have a Tomtom rider v2 -I like it, and have now bought a map of Greece newly released (a long wait)(Turkey is available too). I don’t like the Garmin graphics – Tomtom graphics are more like good old Ordance Survey presentation . The Greek map coverage is pretty good with “B” roads covered OK (In Greece B is used as a relative term!). The cardo headset seems to work without hitch and is included in the price of the Tomtom. Your comms setup is obviously superior!

    • Hi Nikos,

      I’ve just started to read about GPS units for bikes, soooooo expensive……TT v2 Europe 42 is 320 Quid, the Garmin Zumo’s are even more. I’ve started to monitor E-bay now to see if I can pick one up for about half the price, its great that the new NAVTEQ maps are starting to cover our part of the World.

      Don’t know about our setup being superior lol….then again I’ve always found wires, cables and an ample supply of sticky tape and Bluetak to work very well lol.

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  11. Thank you for all your words of support, we are flying back tomorrow night, we hope to start blogging again in better times xxxx

  12. What a great bike sit…like your adventures!!

    Roy

  13. Your very own dungeon……I am so envious, I bet the wife leaves you in peace down there lol…..

Leave a Reply

 
