GOD IT’S HOT !

The candle thermometer indicates that this week was even hotter than the last, its been another busy week on the markets for me, my only free time is the weekend, but the energy sapping heat means I don’t feel like riding today.

IMAG0035

The temperature reached 38c (101F) inside the house Friday, so probably mid forties outside (115F) I worry about the pool of sweat that gathers on the floor (Really) under my chair reaching all the electric cables for my computer. I also know that computers should not become too hot, we have another six weeks yet before the weather turns and  starts  to cool down, something needed to be done.

I bought a fan for my computer, being a tight arse, it was  the cheapest in the shop, when the chap delivered it half an hour later, I discovered it was remote controlled, how cool, if you pardon the pun !!

IMAG0045

I have not only saved my computer from over heating, and myself from an electric shock, but I have saved at least 30 seconds from my day. I don’t have to un-stick myself from my chair, walk six feet over to the fan, adjust the speed or direction, what a marvelous labour saving device a remote control is .

With an electric fan each, life is good again, if only it was solor powered, then I could mount it to the bike and go for a ride !!

.

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on July 25, 2009.

39 Responses to “GOD IT’S HOT !”

  1. I would like to point out the 100yr old fan behind is MINE and is NOT remote control!!!

    • I would like to point out that you are younger than me, therefore you can walk the 6 feet to switch yours on or off !!

      Is it your turn to make tea lol….

  2. What a lovely post…and great pictures. Dave, you’re putting that new Camera to good use. I think I like that remote control feature…don’t think I’ve seen one here yet, but will check our Wall Mart next time I’m there.
    Cheers you two and enjoy the weekend.

    • Hi Berge,

      I never thought for a moment it would ever get warm enough in Canada for an electric fan, live and learn !!

      Cheers

      Dave..

  3. At least you have a fan that works!

    Get me an Efes while you’re making the tea. Thanks, Linda!

  4. Woe there..Hold ya horses chaps… walking to the fan and bringing Efes whilst making tea!!!!!

    I am only 18 months younger than you Dave…and JOHN!!! Shame on you…I do believe you are turning into a Turkish man lol…

    • I see nothing wrong with being a Turkish man, they have a great life from what I’ve seen lol…

      PS….any tea going ??

  5. Dave…It gets hot in July for 2 to 4 weeks…but of course it’s all relative…all our rooms, famaily room, bedroom, dining room, study, etc…are fitted with ceiling fans…the colonial type you see in the Far East, but in addition we also have a few regular fans just in case…none of them with remote control though….lol

    • Hi Berge,

      I have actualy read the instructions, the fan has a setting called NATURE, it basicaly switches itself on and off several times per minute which generates little ”Whooshes” of air instead of the usual constant blast, it really does feel more natural, it would be good for you in your study when your on your computer, a constant blast can become annoying after a few hours.

      Cheers

      Dave…

  6. You have an Award
    Claim Award here!

    • Hi Baron,

      Thanks for the award, I will try not to let it change me lol..

      Cheers

      Dave…

  7. Dave:

    Did I just hear that Linda is making TEA ? I’m getting thirsty. I don’t know what she is complaining about anyway, she has a fan to use. I’ve never had an Efes, can you bring one over too ?

    thanks
    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • You know women Bob……never satisfied, get them one fan, and they want two lol..

      Cheers,

      Dave….

  8. Dave:

    I think that Linda should be grateful that you got the remote controlled fan, otherwise she would have to be getting up all the time to turn it on and off and adjust the speeds for you. you have saved her all this work

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • BOB…we must be brothers, seperated at birth, we soooooo think alike lol…

  9. HELLO BOYS I’M STILL HERE!!! Ok so I’ve worked this out, I’m practically in my death bed here..(well sofa) and you all take advantage of me while i’m ill…WELL I’M BACK!!!! (evil laugh) So..Bob no tea…no efes…not even a fan with no remote…and Dave NO DINNER!!!!!!! (another evil laugh)

  10. Dave:

    sometimes I think there’s no appreciation. After all, you did buy her a Mondail 250 to replace Barbie, and she did also get that hand-me-down manual fan (without the remote). I wonder how Linda would feel if you just took her fan away. Imagine . . . no DINNER. Doesn’t she know that she should be seen and not heard. What will the people in the village say when they find out that she actually “talks back”

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Bob, I know, I know……..is this the time to mention that I also bought my beloved a very expensive imported laptop.

      We men fulfill our roles in life (sound of violins playing in the background) as providers, hunter gatherers, we do our best to keep the girls happy, even through the greatest Global recession in our life times….and what is our reward ”Make your own dinner.”

      I’m just put on this Earth to provide Bob, not to be appreciated lol….

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  11. Why does it take 100 million sperms to fertilize one egg?
    Because not one will stop and ask for directions.

    What should you give a man who has everything?
    A woman to show him how to work it.

    What’s the smartest thing a man can say?
    “My wife says…”

    What’s the difference between Big Foot and intelligent man?
    Big Foot’s been spotted a several times.

    How do you keep your husband from reading your e-mail?
    Rename the mail folder “Instruction Manuals.”

    Behind every great man is a puzzled woman.

    How are husbands like lawn mowers?
    They’re hard to get started, they emit noxious odors, and half the time they don’t work.

    Why is it difficult to find men who are sensitive, caring and good looking?
    They all already have boyfriends.

    And finally..

    How do you save a man from drowning?
    Take your foot off his head.

    Ahhh! feel so much better now 😉

  12. Linda:

    I like you. You are wise beyond words

    I also know that I cannot win the battle and likewise with Dave, I presume, as now he knows when to keep his mouth shut & smile in your direction

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  13. OH, almost forgot . . .

    what do you like in your tea ? and do you want me to turn your fan on for you ?

    luv

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

  14. VICTORY IS ALL MINE HAHAHAHAHA….

    P.S Tea Bob….Strong one sugar… fan number: one setting..daves just come off duty..

    linda x

    • I don’t care how hot it is this weekend, I’m going for a ride to take photos……once upon a time this was a blog about bikes, not TEA lol…

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  15. ….Or electric fans LOL…

  16. Dave:

    I don’t blame you. Once upon a time you had a blog about riding your Transalp around Turkey. Now it seems you have LOST your blog and Linda has TWO. I don’t blame you for going out. She has taken over the sofa, she has taken over your new remote controlled fan, she is not serving you Tea nor dinner. I agree, what else is there to do except ride away and take some photos.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      I see you understand my situation, the girls take over everything, do you remember what it was like when you first become involved with a women and how they take over.

      First they start with your clothes, shirts and socks we’ve had and worn lovingly for decades are no longer suitable and disappear from your wardrobe.

      The couch that you and the dog have slept on for years infront of the TV, gets changed for something pretty, and not to be slept on !!!

      Worst of all, they make you change your underwear more often than is necessery !!

      Cheers,

      Dave…

  17. Hello Dave – I read with interest the comments on this post, and can only say that we men are so misunderstood. I agree with you 100%, go out for a ride – maybe Linda will realize how she has mistreated you by the time you return.

    • Hi Lance,

      It would have to be a very long ride before that happened, around the world twice perhaps lol..

      Cheers

      Dave…

  18. Dave:

    we are in parallel worlds. often shirts go missing. I don’t always realize it at the time until when I remember that I have one that colour and can’t find it. and you’re right about the underwear. eventually you get to that last one and wonder where the rest went, I mean, where did all the socks go . . . The other day I put on a shirt and somehow I was informed that it just “didn’t look right”. I had to change to another one. For some reason we are not in charge of “our castle” anymore.

    bob
    bobskoot: wet coast scootin

    • Hi Bob,

      You ride a bike, you understand, only 2 or 3 day old undies are comfy for a long ride, they fit like a second skin. Try to ride a bike in fresh undies is just Hell, the family jewels just never sit right !!

      Cheers,

      Lancelot Dave, about to re-take his castle!!!

  19. I see my Dearest Husband has recruited another member to the ”lets all pick on Linda club”
    Lance..I cannot believe you have gone to the dark side!!!
    Being all grown up I shall not retaliate… I’m telling my mummy on the lot of you :p

    • Excuse me young lady…the dark side is the only place we men have left, its dark so you can’t see us lol…

  20. Cant see you!!! wont be able to find you to give you your DINNER then!! shall excuse you cause you called me young 😉

  21. How is it the smallest post gets the most comments….and its just about a fan lol….

  22. Hi DDDDDDave

    Cannnnn I cumcumcumcum tooooooo theeeeee ddddddddark sisisisde 222222222?

    • Hi Brains,

      You are welcome to join us chaps in the dark side (don’t tell your wife) the last refuge of maleness !!

      F A B

      Dave…

Leave a Reply

 
