TRANSALP MPG UPDATE

Following on from my earlier blog where I changed the rear sprocket from the standard 48 teeth sprocket to a 46 tooth, well……it works !!

I set the trip a few days ago when we went on a run to Ephesus and today filled up at 320 km, the tank took 14 litres, which means my TA is now returning 22.86 km per litre or 4.37 litres per 100km, or 64.5 MPG, two up with panniers fitted, this is much better than my previous average of 50 MPG. The Transalp has a 19.5 litre petrol tank, so 22.86 x 19.5 = 445km (278Miles) theoretically, with very gentle riding untill the tank runs dry. The average speed on the run was 85kph (53 Mph) there were bursts up to 140kph and pottering around town at 40kph.

pic_0100

I think I will stay with the 46 tooth, I could just bolt on a 45 from an African Twin but then I would definitely have to buy a shorter chain……pretty damn pleased with 65 MPG, 4.37 Litres per 100 KM 🙂

~ by travelswithmymotorbike on January 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “TRANSALP MPG UPDATE”

  1. Door to door, how long did the Ephesus ride take?

  2. Very nice result and thank you for following up on your original post which so many people never do .

Leave a Reply

 
